Prominent Politicians Who Rejected to Serve as President Tinubu’s Minister

Prominent Politicians Who Rejected to Serve as President Tinubu's Minister

President Bola Tinubu’s ministerial list has been a subject of discussion among politicians, with some lobbying for inclusion while others openly reject the offer to serve in his administration.

Since assuming office on May 29, President Tinubu has yet to submit his ministerial list to the National Assembly.

This post explores the reactions of prominent politicians who have either rejected or expressed reservations about serving as ministers under President Tinubu’s administration.

Former PDP Deputy National Chairman, Chief Olabode George

Former Deputy National Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Chief Olabode George, has declined the opportunity to serve as a minister under President Tinubu.

In a statement to The Punch, George cited his age as a factor, stating that he is too old to seek ministerial appointment at this stage of his life.

However, he mentioned that he would be willing to assist in nominating capable candidates if approached for recommendations.

George emphasized his readiness to provide individuals with extensive knowledge and energy to contribute positively to the country.

Former Governor of Kaduna State, Mallam Nasir El-Rufai

Mallam Nasir El-Rufai

Mallam Nasir El-Rufai, the immediate past governor of Kaduna State, has also expressed his unwillingness to accept a ministerial appointment from President Tinubu.

El-Rufai, who previously served as the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) minister under former president Olusegun Obasanjo’s administration, stated that he would decline the offer to serve as the FCT minister again.

Although he did not explicitly state his position on a different ministerial portfolio, Daily Trust reported that El-Rufai expressed his disinterest in relocating to Abuja.

He suggested that a young and vibrant individual would be better suited for the position, emphasizing the need for fresh perspectives and dynamism.

Former Ekiti Governor, Ayo Fayose

Former Ekiti state governor, Ayo Fayose, has also made it clear that he would reject any ministerial appointments offered by President Tinubu.

Speaking during Channels TV’s late-night program, Sunday Politics, Fayose categorically stated,

“I will never accept it.”

His position indicates a firm decision to decline any ministerial nomination under President Tinubu’s administration.

APC’s Update on President Bola Tinubu’s Ministerial List

Meanwhile, Senator Iyiola Omisore, the national secretary of the All Progressives Congress (APC), has provided an important update on President Tinubu’s ministerial list.

According to inschoolboard, Omisore stated that the list is currently “not ready yet.” Speaking on Channels Television’s Politics Today, he mentioned that the APC’s leadership is still in the process of consulting and deliberating on the final selection.


President Bola Tinubu’s ministerial list has generated various reactions from politicians.

While some have actively lobbied for inclusion, others have openly rejected the opportunity to serve under his administration.

Notable figures like Chief Olabode George, Mallam Nasir El-Rufai, and Ayo Fayose have expressed their reservations or declined any ministerial appointments.

As the anticipation for President Tinubu’s list continues, the country awaits the official announcement of the selected ministers and the subsequent impact they will have on Nigeria’s governance.

News source:


Leave a Reply